The best body scrubs and exfoliators for men
The thing that feels most effective in this category is the thing that does least. Abrasion is a sensation; the published percentage on the back is the specification.
By Sawyer V. · Published
We have not tested any of this. Everything below is compiled from published manufacturer specifications, and the arithmetic is printed so you can check it. This page carries affiliate links: if you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not change the order of the picks. Full disclosure.
The short version
Buy the AmLactin Daily Nourish. Twelve per cent lactic acid printed on the front, a twelve-item list published in full, three published sizes, and fragrance-free stated outright - it is the only product in this category that tells you how much active you are getting. Buy the Eucerin if your skin is thickened rather than just rough: a published 10 per cent urea, which softens keratin rather than only hydrating it. And the honest part: a sugar scrub is a sensation, not a treatment.
| # | Pick | Lasts | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | AmLactin Daily Nourish Lotion (12% Lactic Acid) The only published acid percentage in the category | ~16 uses | 7.2/10 | $13.99 - view on Amazon |
| 2 | Eucerin Roughness Relief Lotion Urea at a published strength for rough patches | ~33 uses | 7.7/10 | $14.97 - view on Amazon |
| 3 | CeraVe SA Lotion for Rough & Bumpy Skin Two acids plus a barrier, if you can live without the numbers | Not published | 7.2/10 | $49.48 - view on Amazon |
| 4 | Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Clogged pores and ingrown hairs | ~59 uses | 7.8/10 | $37.00 - view on Amazon |
| 5 | CeraVe Hydrating Body Wash Skin that feels tight after a shower | ~49 uses | 9.3/10 | $13.99 - view on Amazon |
Prices last verified September 24, 2026. They move constantly; the figure on Amazon when you click is the real one.

Two completely different things share this aisle
A body scrub is abrasive: sugar, salt or ground shell suspended in oil, removing loose surface cells by friction. A chemical exfoliant is an acid that dissolves the bonds holding dead cells together, so they release on their own.
The scrub feels like it is working, immediately and unmistakably. That feeling is the reason the category exists and it is also the trap: the sensation is friction, and friction is not the same as result.
| Physical scrub | Chemical exfoliant | |
|---|---|---|
| Mechanism | Abrasion | Dissolves cell bonds |
| Reaches into a follicle | No | Yes, if oil-soluble |
| Immediate feel | Very smooth | Nothing much |
| Result after 6 weeks | Unchanged | Genuinely smoother |
| Risk | Micro-tears, redness | Stinging, sun sensitivity |
| Published strength | Never | Sometimes - and that is the ranking |
What this page ranks on
- Published active percentage. The whole ranking. One product prints it on the front; one prints it for its urea but not its acid; one publishes neither.
- A full published ingredient list. Two of the three publish one.
- Published container size. A body needs roughly 15 ml per whole-body application, so size decides cost per use. One product here does not publish it at all.
- A published fragrance-free claim. Body products cover a lot of skin, so fragrance load is proportionally larger than on a face.
Published figures, side by side
| Product | Published strength | Size | Full list | Fragrance-free |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AmLactin Daily Nourish | 12% lactic acid | 7.9 / 14.1 / 20 oz | Yes | Yes (published) |
| Eucerin Roughness Relief | 10% urea; AHA unquantified | 16.9 fl oz | No | Yes (published) |
| CeraVe SA Lotion | Not published | Not published | Yes | Not published |
The pick: AmLactin Daily Nourish, 12% lactic acid
Twelve per cent lactic acid, printed on the front of the bottle. That is the only published acid percentage in this category and it is why this wins - everything else here asks you to trust an ingredient name without a quantity.
Lactic acid is also unusually well suited to a body, because it does two jobs from one molecule. It is an alpha hydroxy acid, so it exfoliates. It is also a humectant, so it holds water in the skin it just exfoliated. On dry, rough skin that combination is exactly right, and it is why a plain occlusive lotion never quite fixes the same problem.
The list is twelve items and published in full, three sizes are published so cost per use is genuinely calculable, and fragrance-free, dye-free, paraben-free and phthalate-free are all stated outright.
The honest cons. It stings on freshly shaved or broken skin - a real consideration if you groom body hair, and the reason to leave three days after shaving. Mineral oil is third on the list, which some people avoid on principle. An acid at this strength increases sun sensitivity on anything that sees daylight. And it works over weeks rather than in one application, which feels like nothing is happening compared with a scrub.
For thickened skin: Eucerin Roughness Relief
A published 10 per cent urea in 16.9 fl oz, fragrance-free and dye-free, with Ceramide-3 named.
Urea is the right ingredient for a specific problem: skin that is hard as well as dry - heels, elbows, knees, the patches that feel like they have a rind. It softens keratin directly rather than only pulling water in, which is a different mechanism from lactic acid and better suited to genuinely thickened skin. The foot care page makes the same argument for the same reason.
The honest cons. Eucerin names an alpha hydroxy acid in the formula and does not publish how much - which is the single figure that would let it be ranked against the AmLactin, and its absence is why it is second. The full ingredient list is not shown in one place on the product page. Ten per cent urea stings on cracked skin. And it is thick enough that some people will not wear it under clothes.
The most complete formula: CeraVe SA Lotion
The published list is genuinely the best-constructed here: salicylic acid fifth, ammonium lactate eighth, and all three ceramides - NP, AP and EOP - alongside hyaluronic acid. Two different acids doing different jobs, with the barrier ingredients there to put back what the acids strip.
Salicylic being oil-soluble is the reason to pick this one specifically: it gets inside the follicle, which is where the plug causing bumpy texture actually sits. The face exfoliant roundup explains the solubility difference properly.
The honest cons, and they are what keep it third despite the best formula. Neither acid percentage is published, so its strength cannot be compared with anything - including with itself batch to batch. The container size is not stated on the product page, which means cost per use is not calculable at all. It contains mineral oil and two parabens. And there is no fragrance-free claim published, unlike both products above it.
Where a scrub still earns its place
This page is hard on physical scrubs and they are not useless. Three cases where one is the right answer:
- Before a self-tan. An even surface matters more than a treated one, and abrasion gives you that in ten minutes.
- On hands and feet. Thick skin, low irritation risk, and a pumice or a coarse scrub does real work there that an acid does slowly.
- A long-handled brush on a back. Not for the abrasion - for the reach. You cannot apply a lotion to the middle of your own back, and a rinse-off product you can reach beats a leave-on you cannot.
What a scrub should not be is the thing you buy expecting rough or bumpy skin to change. That is a published-percentage problem.
A routine that does not overdo it
- Two or three times a week, not daily. Over-exfoliated skin looks exactly like under-exfoliated skin, which is how people end up doing more of the thing causing it.
- On dry skin after a shower, not in it. Leave-on acids need contact time.
- Never the same day as shaving. Day three at the earliest.
- A plain moisturizer on the other days. Acids plus a stripped barrier is the loop - the lotion roundup covers the fragrance-free options and why container size matters.
- Sunscreen on anything exposed. AHAs increase sun sensitivity, and that is on the label rather than in the fine print.
- Six to eight weeks before judging it. Skin turnover is measured in weeks, and almost every verdict on this category gets delivered at day ten.
Every pick, with the working
Each entry shows the published specifications, the axis scores they produce and what you give up. The order is the computed order, not a commercial one, and the arithmetic is open underneath every score.
Our pickThe only published acid percentage in the category
AmLactin Daily Nourish Lotion (12% Lactic Acid)
12 per cent lactic acid printed on the front, a twelve-item ingredient list published in full, three published sizes, and fragrance-free, dye-free, paraben-free and phthalate-free stated outright. Lactic acid does two jobs from one ingredient - it exfoliates and it is a humectant - and this is the only body product here that tells you how much of it you are getting.
- Volume
- 234 ml
- Fragrance
- Fragrance-free
- Refill
- Nothing to refill
- Warranty
- Not applicable
- How long it lasts
- 16 uses
Published key ingredients: Ammonium lactate (12% lactic acid), Glycerin, Mineral oil, Dimethicone.
The arithmetic: 234 ml / 15 per whole-body application (assumed) = about 16 applications.
What it gets right
- Published 12 per cent lactic acid - the figure nobody else in this category prints
- Full 12-ingredient list published, and it is short
- Published fragrance-free, dye-free, paraben-free and phthalate-free
- Three published sizes (7.9, 14.1 and 20 oz), so cost per use is actually calculable
- No scrubbing - it works chemically rather than by abrasion
Flaws
- Lactic acid stings on freshly shaved or broken skin
- Mineral oil is third on the list, which some people avoid on principle
- An acid this strength needs sunscreen on anything it is used on that sees daylight
- Takes weeks rather than one application, unlike a scrub that feels immediate
The working behind the 7.2
- How long it lasts: 1.8
- 234 ml / 15 per whole-body application (assumed) = about 16 applications. At five shaves a week, that is about 0.7 months. A 4-month supply scores 10 in this category, so 0.7 / 4 x 10 = 1.8.
- Ease of switching: 9.0
- A published acid percentage plus a published fragrance-free claim removes both unknowns at once (++), three sizes published so cost per use is calculable (+), but it stings shaved skin (-) and needs sunscreen over it (-).
- Refill economics: 8.0
- Nothing to refill. The only future cost is replacing the item itself.
- What the maker publishes: 10.0
- 3 of 3 specifications a buyer would expect are published: volumeMl, keyIngredients, fragranceFree. 3 / 3 x 10 = 10.0.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled 3 September 2026 from AmLactin Daily Nourish published 12% lactic acid and full ingredient list.
2Urea at a published strength for rough patches
Eucerin Roughness Relief Lotion
10 per cent urea published on the front, 16.9 fl oz, fragrance-free and dye-free. Urea is the ingredient for skin that is thickened as well as dry - it softens keratin rather than only hydrating it. The gap is the AHA: Eucerin names it as an ingredient and does not publish how much, which is the one number that would let it be ranked properly.
- Volume
- 500 ml
- Fragrance
- Fragrance-free
- Refill
- Nothing to refill
- Warranty
- Not applicable
- How long it lasts
- 33 uses
Published key ingredients: Urea (10%), Glycerin, Ceramide-3, Alpha hydroxy acid (unquantified).
The arithmetic: 500 ml / 15 per whole-body application (assumed) = about 33 applications.
What it gets right
- Published 10 per cent urea, which is a real and unusual disclosure
- Published fragrance-free and dye-free
- 16.9 fl oz published, a genuine body-sized container
- Ceramide-3 named, so the barrier support is not just marketing
Flaws
- The AHA content is named but its percentage is not published - the one figure that matters most
- Full ingredient list is not shown in one place on the product page
- Urea at 10 per cent can sting on cracked skin
- Thicker than a daily lotion, which some people will not wear under clothes
The working behind the 7.7
- How long it lasts: 3.8
- 500 ml / 15 per whole-body application (assumed) = about 33 applications. At five shaves a week, that is about 1.5 months. A 4-month supply scores 10 in this category, so 1.5 / 4 x 10 = 3.8.
- Ease of switching: 9.0
- Published 10 per cent urea and a published fragrance-free claim (+), a real 16.9 fl oz size (+), but the AHA is unquantified (-) and the full list is not published in one place (-).
- Refill economics: 8.0
- Nothing to refill. The only future cost is replacing the item itself.
- What the maker publishes: 10.0
- 3 of 3 specifications a buyer would expect are published: volumeMl, keyIngredients, fragranceFree. 3 / 3 x 10 = 10.0.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled 3 September 2026 from Eucerin Roughness Relief published 10% urea and fragrance-free claim.
3Two acids plus a barrier, if you can live without the numbers
CeraVe SA Lotion for Rough & Bumpy Skin
The full ingredient list is published and it is a good one: salicylic acid fifth, ammonium lactate eighth, and all three ceramides - NP, AP and EOP - alongside hyaluronic acid. Two different acids and a barrier repair in one bottle is the most complete formula here. What CeraVe will not tell you is how much of either acid is in it, which is why it does not win.
- Fragrance
- Not published
- Refill
- Nothing to refill
- Warranty
- Not applicable
- How long it lasts
- Not published
Published key ingredients: Salicylic acid, Ammonium lactate, Ceramide NP, AP, EOP, Hyaluronic acid.
What it gets right
- Full ingredient list published
- Two acids doing different jobs - salicylic is oil-soluble, lactic is a humectant
- All three ceramides published by name (NP, AP, EOP) plus hyaluronic acid
- The barrier ingredients are there to put back what the acids strip
Flaws
- Neither acid percentage is published, so its strength cannot be compared with anything
- Container size is not stated on the product page
- Contains mineral oil and two parabens, which matters to some buyers
- No fragrance-free claim published, unlike the other two here
The working behind the 7.2
- How long it lasts: not scored
- Not scored. This is a durable item, not a consumable, so how long it lasts is an assumption about service life rather than something the pack size tells us.
- Ease of switching: 9.0
- Two acids and a full ceramide complex in one published list (+), barrier support built in (+), but neither acid is quantified (-) and even the container size is not published (-).
- Refill economics: 8.0
- Nothing to refill. The only future cost is replacing the item itself.
- What the maker publishes: 3.3
- 1 of 3 specifications a buyer would expect are published: keyIngredients. Not published: volumeMl, fragranceFree. 1 / 3 x 10 = 3.3.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled 3 September 2026 from CeraVe SA Lotion published full ingredient list.
4Clogged pores and ingrown hairs
Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid
118 ml of salicylic acid at a published 2 per cent, at a published pH of 3.5, in an eight-ingredient formula. Both numbers matter: a BHA below about pH 4 is doing chemistry and above it is doing very little, and almost nobody in this category publishes their pH at all. Salicylic acid is oil-soluble, so it goes down the follicle - which is why it is the right acid for ingrowns rather than the glycolic most sites recommend.
- Volume
- 118 ml
- Fragrance
- Fragrance-free
- Made in
- United States
- Refill
- Nothing to refill
- Warranty
- Not applicable
- How long it lasts
- 59 uses
Published key ingredients: Salicylic acid 2%, Green tea leaf extract, pH 3.5.
The arithmetic: 118 ml / 2 ml per application (assumed) = about 59 applications.
What it gets right
- Published 2 per cent salicylic acid AND a published pH of 3.5 - the second figure is the rare one
- Eight ingredients total, with the fourth being the active
- Fragrance-free and alcohol-free, both stated on the label
- Oil-soluble acid, which is the mechanism that matters for follicles rather than surface texture
Flaws
- Salicylic acid raises sun sensitivity, so it obliges you to wear sunscreen
- Every-day use is too much for most people starting out
- The texture is a watery liquid that runs, which takes practice on a face
The working behind the 7.8
- How long it lasts: 6.8
- 118 ml / 2 ml per application (assumed) = about 59 applications. At five shaves a week, that is about 2.7 months. A 4-month supply scores 10 in this category, so 2.7 / 4 x 10 = 6.8.
- Ease of switching: 7.0
- Published active concentration and published pH, which together make the chemistry checkable (++), eight-ingredient formula (+), fragrance-free (+), but it obliges daily sunscreen (-) and the runny texture is awkward on a face (-).
- Refill economics: 8.0
- Nothing to refill. The only future cost is replacing the item itself.
- What the maker publishes: 10.0
- 4 of 4 specifications a buyer would expect are published: volumeMl, keyIngredients, fragranceFree, madeIn. 4 / 4 x 10 = 10.0.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled 3 September 2026 from Paula's Choice 2% BHA published concentration, pH and ingredient list.
5Skin that feels tight after a shower
CeraVe Hydrating Body Wash
Skip this one. Not an exfoliant, and it is on this page because that is the point. A hydrating body wash is the thing you should be using on the days you are NOT exfoliating, and a lot of people buy a scrub when what their skin actually needed was to stop being stripped daily. It publishes its specifications and it is a good wash. It will not smooth rough skin, and it does not claim to.
Fragrance-free, sulfate-free, paraben-free, with the same three ceramides and hyaluronic acid as the face range. Body wash is the product most men buy on smell alone, and this is the one that treats the skin barrier the way the face products on this site do.
- Volume
- 296 ml
- Fragrance
- Fragrance-free
- Refill
- Nothing to refill
- Warranty
- Not applicable
- How long it lasts
- 49 uses
Published key ingredients: Ceramide NP, Ceramide AP, Ceramide EOP, Hyaluronic acid.
The arithmetic: 296 ml / 6 ml per wash (assumed) = about 49 washes.
What it gets right
- Fragrance-free, sulfate-free and paraben-free, all published
- Ceramides 1, 3 and 6-II plus hyaluronic acid - the same system as the face range
- Non-stripping enough for daily use on dry skin
- Works as a face wash in a pinch, which the fragranced alternatives do not
Flaws
- 296 ml is small for a body product used daily
- Barely foams, which many people read as not working
- Costs several times a supermarket bottle per milliliter
The working behind the 9.3
- How long it lasts: 10.0
- 296 ml / 6 ml per wash (assumed) = about 49 washes. At five shaves a week, that is about 2.3 months. A 2-month supply scores 10 in this category, so 2.3 / 2 x 10 = 10.0.
- Ease of switching: 9.0
- Fragrance-free and sulfate-free with the same ceramide system as the face range (++), gentle enough for daily use (+), but 296 ml is small for a body product and the lack of foam misleads people (-).
- Refill economics: 8.0
- Nothing to refill. The only future cost is replacing the item itself.
- What the maker publishes: 10.0
- 3 of 3 specifications a buyer would expect are published: volumeMl, keyIngredients, fragranceFree. 3 / 3 x 10 = 10.0.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled 3 September 2026 from CeraVe Hydrating Body Wash published specifications.
Prices last verified September 24, 2026. They move constantly; the figure on Amazon when you click is the real one.
Questions people actually ask
Are body scrubs actually worth using?
For an immediate smooth feeling before an event, yes. For actually changing rough or bumpy skin over weeks, no - a physical scrub removes surface debris and cannot reach into a follicle or dissolve the keratin plug that is causing the texture. Acids do that, and they publish how strongly.
What causes rough, bumpy skin on arms and thighs?
Usually keratin building up around follicle openings. Scrubbing it makes it feel better for an hour and can make it redder; a lactic or salicylic acid works on the plug itself. This is the single most common reason people end up in this aisle.
Lactic, salicylic or urea?
Lactic acid exfoliates and holds water, so it suits dry rough skin. Salicylic is oil-soluble and gets inside a follicle, so it suits bumps and body acne. Urea softens thickened keratin, so it suits genuinely hard patches. They are different tools.
How often should I exfoliate my body?
Two or three times a week to start, not daily. Over-exfoliating produces exactly the irritated, flaky skin people then try to fix with more exfoliating. Six to eight weeks before judging any of it, because that is how long skin turnover takes.
Can I use these after shaving?
Not the same day. An acid on freshly shaved skin stings and the barrier is already disturbed. Wait until day three - the ingrown hair page uses the same timing for the same reason.
Do I need sunscreen after using an acid?
On anything that sees daylight, yes. AHAs increase sun sensitivity, and that is a published warning rather than a precaution. On a torso under a shirt it is academic; on forearms in summer it is not.