Andis T-Outliner vs GTX-EXO
Identical stroke rate, opposite trade-offs. One is 14.5 oz of magnetic motor on a cable; the other is 7.8 oz of rotary that runs an hour and forty minutes off a cell.
By Sawyer V. · Published
We have not tested any of this. Everything below is compiled from published manufacturer specifications, and the arithmetic is printed so you can check it. This page carries affiliate links: if you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not change the order of the picks. Full disclosure.
The short answer
Buy the cordless GTX-EXO unless the blade material decides it for you. Both publish the same 7,200 strokes per minute, but the cordless uses a rotary motor rather than a magnetic one - quieter and smoother - weighs a published 7.8 oz against 14.5 oz, and publishes a battery at 1 hour 40 minutes, which is more than any single session needs. Buy the corded 04780 if you want to know what steel you are getting: Andis publishes a carbon-steel T-blade on it and, on the GTX-EXO, publishes only that the GTX-Z set is pre-set tight gap and zero-gap capable - never what it is made of. Both carry a published two-year warranty. Andis publishes no charge time for the cordless.
| # | Pick | Lasts | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Andis T-Outliner T-Blade Trimmer (04780) The line every barber cuts | 2,600 shaves* | 6.6/10 | $64.95 - view on Amazon |
| 2 | Andis GTX-EXO Cordless Li Trimmer (74150) The same stroke rate without the cord | 2,600 shaves* | 7.9/10 | $116.99 - view on Amazon |
Prices last verified October 19, 2026. They move constantly; the figure on Amazon when you click is the real one.

The published figures
These are two power systems under the same stroke rate, and Andis is unusually forthcoming about both - which is the reason this comparison can be made at all. Most trimmer makers publish no motor figure of any kind.
| Specification | T-Outliner 04780 | GTX-EXO 74150 |
|---|---|---|
| Motor | Magnetic, 7,200 SPM | Rotary, 7,200 SPM |
| Power | Corded | Li cordless |
| Runtime | Not applicable | 1 h 40 min |
| Charge time | Not applicable | Not published |
| Weight | 14.5 oz | 7.8 oz |
| Length | Not published | 5.50 in |
| Blade | Carbon-steel T-blade | GTX-Z, tight gap; material not stated |
| Combs included | None at this item number | 4, sizes not published |
| Made in | Not published | USA |
| Warranty | 2 years | 2 years |
The one figure that is identical
7,200 strokes per minute, published on both. That is the number the whole category argues about and here it is a tie, which clears the comparison of the thing people usually decide it on.
What differs is how that stroke rate is produced. The corded trimmer uses a magnetic motor: an electromagnet pulling a spring-loaded armature back and forth at mains frequency. Simple, proven, and the reason the tool buzzes in your hand and is audible across a room. The cordless uses a rotary motor - a spinning armature converted to reciprocating motion - which runs quieter and transmits much less vibration.
Neither is better at cutting hair at the same stroke rate. One of them is nicer to hold for twenty minutes.
The battery, and the sentence Andis will not write
The standard case against a cordless trimmer for line work is that torque drops as the cell drains, and a lineup is the one job where a tool losing power halfway is unacceptable - there is no way to pause in the middle of an edge.
A published 1 hour 40 minutes goes a long way toward answering that. It is the longest published runtime in this category and far more than one session asks for, so a fading cell is unlikely to meet you mid-edge.
What would settle it completely is corded operation, and here the record is split. The retail listing states cord/cordless. Andis's own product page does not: it publishes a charging stand, an adapter and a voltage range, and never says the tool cuts while plugged in. We are citing the listing for that one claim and flagging it as the listing's, because it is the difference between a cable and a stopped haircut and the maker should be the one saying it.
Half the weight, and what that does to a line
14.5 oz against 7.8 oz is the largest proportional difference between these two tools, and it changes how they are used rather than how well they cut.
A heavy trimmer sits into the skin under its own mass, which steadies a long edge and is part of why the corded T-Outliner has been the default outlining tool in barbershops for decades. A light one is quicker to reposition and easier to hold at an awkward angle behind an ear or along a nape, which is most of what a home user is doing - the nape guide is the clearest case for the lighter tool, because you are working blind with a mirror.
The blade material is where the corded tool wins
Andis publishes a carbon-steel T-blade on the 04780. Carbon steel takes and holds a keen edge, which is what a line needs, and it rusts if it is put away wet - so it needs drying and oiling, which is true of any T-blade and is covered in the cleaning guide.
On the GTX-EXO, Andis publishes the blade as a GTX-Z set with a pre-set tight gap that is zero-gap capable, and stops. That tells you the geometry and nothing about the metal, and the metal is what decides whether the blade rusts, runs cool or holds its edge. If the material matters to you, the corded tool is the one that answers the question.
The decision, in one line each
- Cutting lines at home. Cordless. Half the weight, four combs and a charging stand in the box, and a battery that outlasts the job by an hour.
- Cutting lines all day, professionally. Corded. No cell to degrade, the mass works for you on a long edge, and the blade material is stated.
- Noise matters - a sleeping house, a small bathroom. Cordless. Rotary at the same stroke rate is a quieter tool.
- You want the tool to last twenty years. Corded. Everything else here is built to, and a lithium cell is not.
- You want a specific blade steel. Corded. The GTX-EXO never tells you which one you are getting.
Either way, the tool is only half of a clean line. The neckline guide covers where the line should sit, which is the part that goes wrong far more often than the hardware.
Every pick, with the working
Each entry shows the published specifications, the axis scores they produce and what you give up. The order is the computed order, not a commercial one, and the arithmetic is open underneath every score.
Our pickThe line every barber cuts
Andis T-Outliner T-Blade Trimmer (04780)
A magnetic motor published at 7,200 SPM behind a carbon-steel T-blade, corded, 14.5 oz, with a published 2-year warranty. It is the default outlining tool in professional use and it publishes the two figures that matter: motor speed and blade material. Corded is not a compromise here - a lineup is a stationary job.
- Material
- Carbon steel T-blade
- Made in
- Not published
- Refill
- Proprietary to the maker
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Assumed service life
- 2,600 uses
The arithmetic: 260 uses a year x 10 years of assumed service life = 2600 uses.
What it gets right
- Published 7,200 SPM magnetic motor - a real figure, which most trimmers do not give
- Published carbon-steel T-blade, hardened for cutting life
- Published 14.5 oz weight and 2-year warranty
- Corded, so there is no battery to fade mid-line
Flaws
- Corded, so it is tethered - and the cord length is not published
- Magnetic motors are louder and buzz more than rotary
- Carbon steel will rust if it is left wet; it needs oiling
- No guards included at this item number - it is an outlining tool, not a clipper
The working behind the 6.6
- How long it lasts: not scored
- Not scored. This is a durable item, not a consumable, so how long it lasts is an assumption about service life rather than something the pack size tells us.
- Ease of switching: 8.0
- Published motor speed and blade material remove the two biggest unknowns in this category (++), corded means no fade mid-line (+), but the cord itself is the friction (-) and carbon steel needs oiling (-).
- Refill economics: 4.0
- Only this maker's refill fits, so the ongoing price is set by the maker rather than by a market. This is where the real cost of ownership hides.
- What the maker publishes: 6.7
- 2 of 3 specifications a buyer would expect are published: material, warrantyLabel. Not published: madeIn. 2 / 3 x 10 = 6.7.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled 3 September 2026 from Andis T-Outliner 04780 published motor, blade and warranty.
2The same stroke rate without the cord
Andis GTX-EXO Cordless Li Trimmer (74150)
A rotary motor published at the same 7,200 SPM as the corded T-Outliner, 7.8 oz - a little over half the weight - and a battery published at 1 hour 40 minutes, the longest runtime figure in this category. Andis publishes the whole box, a two-year warranty and Made in USA. What it does not publish is the charge time, or what the GTX-Z blade is made of.
- Material
- GTX-Z blade; material not published
- Runtime
- 100 min
- Charge time
- Not published
- Made in
- USA
- Refill
- Proprietary to the maker
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Assumed service life
- 2,600 uses
The arithmetic: 260 uses a year x 10 years of assumed service life = 2600 uses.
What it gets right
- Published 7,200 SPM rotary motor - quieter and smoother than magnetic
- Published 1 hour 40 minute runtime, the longest published battery figure here
- 7.8 oz published, a little over half the weight of the corded T-Outliner
- Published 2-year warranty and published as Made in USA
- Charging stand, adapter, four combs, oil, guard and brush all published in the box
Flaws
- Charge time is not published - Andis publishes only 'fast recharge'
- The blade material is not published, only that the GTX-Z set is pre-set tight gap
- Andis does not publish corded operation; only the retail listing states cord/cordless
- A battery is a wear item on a tool otherwise built to last decades
The working behind the 7.9
- How long it lasts: not scored
- Not scored. This is a durable item, not a consumable, so how long it lasts is an assumption about service life rather than something the pack size tells us.
- Ease of switching: 9.0
- A published 1 hour 40 minute runtime and a fully published box remove most of the guesswork (++), 7.8 oz and 7,200 SPM both published (+), but the charge time is still absent (-) and the blade material is not stated (-).
- Refill economics: 4.0
- Only this maker's refill fits, so the ongoing price is set by the maker rather than by a market. This is where the real cost of ownership hides.
- What the maker publishes: 10.0
- 3 of 3 specifications a buyer would expect are published: material, warrantyLabel, madeIn. 3 / 3 x 10 = 10.0.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled 3 September 2026 from Andis GTX-EXO 74150 published motor, runtime, weight, warranty and box contents.
Prices last verified October 19, 2026. They move constantly; the figure on Amazon when you click is the real one.
Questions people actually ask
What happened to the Cordless T-Outliner Li?
Andis no longer lists the 74055 Cordless T-Outliner Li, and it is not purchasable. The GTX-EXO 74150 is the current cordless Andis T-blade trimmer and publishes the same 7,200 SPM and the same 7.8 oz, with a longer battery - 1 hour 40 minutes against the old model's one hour. If you were comparing against the 74055, this page is the replacement comparison.
Is a cordless trimmer worse for lineups?
The usual objection is that torque falls as the cell drains, and that is real on a cordless-only tool. A published 1 hour 40 minute runtime makes it unlikely to bite inside one session. Worth knowing: the retail listing states cord/cordless operation, but Andis's own page does not - it publishes a charging stand and an adapter and stops there. So the one thing that would fully remove the objection is the one thing the maker will not confirm.
Does the lighter weight actually matter?
For a lineup, yes - more than most specifications. A neckline or a hard part is cut with the wrist rather than the arm, and 7.8 oz against 14.5 oz is close to half the mass to control through a slow, deliberate stroke. The heavier tool is steadier against the skin; the lighter one is easier to place precisely. Which you prefer is a genuine preference and not a specification.
Magnetic or rotary motor - which is better?
Neither, at the same published stroke rate. A magnetic motor is simpler, louder and vibrates more; a rotary is quieter and smoother and is what the cordless uses. Both are published at 7,200 SPM, so the difference you will notice is noise and buzz rather than cutting speed.
What is the blade material question?
Andis publishes a carbon-steel T-blade on the corded 04780. On the GTX-EXO it publishes the blade as a pre-set tight gap, zero-gap-capable GTX-Z set and never states the material. Carbon steel holds an edge well and rusts if it is left wet - the cleaning guide covers the oiling routine either way - and ceramic runs cooler. Not knowing which you are buying is a real gap on an otherwise well-documented tool.
Do either of them come with guards?
The GTX-EXO publishes four combs, along with a charging stand, an adapter, blade oil, a guard and a brush - though not the comb sizes. The corded 04780 is sold as an outlining tool without them. That is not a defect; a T-blade exists to cut a line, not a length, and guard work belongs to a clipper.
How do these compare to the Wahl Detailer?
That is the other half of this category and it is a different argument - a fixed carbon-steel T-blade against Wahl's adjustable 2215. The brand head-to-head works through it, and the lineup roundup ranks the whole field.
Which is the better buy for a home user?
The cordless. Cutting your own nape means working behind your head in a mirror, and a cable is one more thing fighting you there. The one argument for the corded tool at home is longevity - a battery is a wear item on a device that is otherwise built to last decades, and the corded version has no cell to fail.