The best T-blade trimmers for lineups
A clipper takes length off. A T-blade cuts an edge. They are not interchangeable, and the reason is the shape of the blade rather than the power of the motor.
By Sawyer V. · Published
We have not tested any of this. Everything below is compiled from published manufacturer specifications, and the arithmetic is printed so you can check it. This page carries affiliate links: if you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not change the order of the picks. Full disclosure.
The short version
Buy the Andis T-Outliner. A published 7,200 SPM magnetic motor behind a published carbon-steel T-blade, 14.5 oz, two-year warranty - it is the default outlining tool in professional use and it publishes both figures that matter. Buy the Cordless T-Outliner Li if you want the same line without the cord: same published 7,200 SPM, a published one-hour battery, and at 7.8 oz it is barely half the weight. And do not zero-gap anything until you can already cut a straight line.
| # | Pick | Lasts | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Andis T-Outliner T-Blade Trimmer (04780) The line every barber cuts | 2,600 shaves* | 6.6/10 | $64.95 - view on Amazon |
| 2 | Andis Cordless T-Outliner Li Trimmer (74055) The same line without the cord | 2,600 shaves* | 7.0/10 | $135.00 - view on Amazon |
| 3 | Andis GTX T-Outliner T-Blade Trimmer (04785) Deep-tooth cutting and guards in the box | 2,600 shaves* | 7.5/10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 4 | Wahl Professional 5-Star Detailer (8081) An adjustable blade you can set yourself | 2,600 shaves* | 7.2/10 | $13.99 - view on Amazon |
| 5 | Wahl 5 Star Magic Clip (8148) Fading and blending at home | 1,300 shaves* | 5.9/10 | $139.99 - view on Amazon |
Prices last verified September 24, 2026. They move constantly; the figure on Amazon when you click is the real one.

A T-blade is not a small clipper
This is the thing worth understanding before spending anything. A clipper blade is narrower than the tool, with rounded corners, built to feed a volume of hair into a cutter and take length off evenly. A T-blade is wide and square, and its teeth extend past the housing on both sides.
That overhang is the entire point. It lets you put a corner of the blade exactly where you want a line and drive it along, with nothing on the tool getting in the way of your sight line. A clipper cannot do that, and no amount of motor makes up for the geometry.
| Clipper | T-blade trimmer | |
|---|---|---|
| Blade shape | Narrower than the body, rounded | Wide and square, teeth overhang |
| Job | Removes length, blends | Cuts an edge |
| Used with guards | Almost always | Usually bare |
| Where | Top, sides, fades | Hairline, temples, nape, beard line |
What this page ranks on
- Published motor speed. Unusually for grooming, this category does publish it - three of the four tools here give a real SPM figure, which makes them genuinely comparable.
- Published blade material. Carbon steel takes a finer edge and rusts; stainless is more forgiving and less sharp; ceramic runs cooler. Only some makers say which ships on the tool.
- Weight. Lineup work is wrist work at awkward angles. The spread here is7.8 to 17.5 oz, which is more than double, and you feel it.
- Published warranty. These are tools bought once and kept for years, so a published warranty is a real signal rather than a formality.
Published figures, side by side
| Trimmer | Motor | SPM | Weight | Power | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andis T-Outliner (04780) | Magnetic | 7,200 | 14.5 oz | Corded | 2 years |
| Andis Cordless T-Outliner Li (74055) | Rotary | 7,200 | 7.8 oz | Cord/cordless, 1 h | 2 years |
| Andis GTX T-Outliner (04785) | Magnetic | 7,200 | 17.5 oz | Corded | 2 years |
| Wahl 5-Star Detailer (8081) | Rotary | Not published | Not published | Corded, 8 ft | 1 year |
The pick: Andis T-Outliner (04780)
A magnetic motor published at 7,200 SPM behind a published carbon-steel T-blade, hardened for cutting life. Andis publishes the weight (14.5 oz) and a two-year warranty. It is the tool on most professional barber stations, and unlike most grooming products it earns that on figures you can check.
Corded is not a compromise here, which is worth saying because it looks like one on a spec sheet. A lineup is a stationary job done in front of a mirror; a cord costs you nothing and removes a battery that fades mid-line and eventually dies.
The honest cons. It is tethered, and Andis does not publish the cord length - an odd omission on a corded tool. Magnetic motors buzz and vibrate more than rotary ones, which is fatiguing over a long session. Carbon steel rusts if it is left wet, so oiling is an obligation rather than a suggestion. And no guards ship at this item number: it is an outlining tool, not a clipper.
The one most people should actually buy: Cordless T-Outliner Li
The same published 7,200 SPM from a rotary motor - quieter and smoother - with a lithium-ion battery published at one hour, and it runs corded as well, which removes the usual cordless objection entirely.
The number that decides it for home use is the weight: 7.8 oz against the T-Outliner's 14.5 and the GTX's 17.5. Cutting your own nape means holding a tool behind your head, working in a mirror, with your wrist at an angle it does not like. Half the weight is a bigger practical difference than any motor spec on this page. Andis also publishes its dimensions and four comb sizes.
The honest cons. Charge time is not published, which is the other half of the battery question and a real gap. Andis lists carbon steel, stainless and ceramic as replacement blades without stating which ships on it - so the material this page ranks on is unknown for this model. A battery is a wear item on a tool otherwise built to last decades.
If you want guards too: GTX T-Outliner (04785)
Same published 7,200 SPM magnetic motor in a heavier 17.5 oz body, published as Made in USA, with four attachment combs included - 1/16, 1/8, 1/4 and 3/8 inch - and a deep-tooth carbon-steel replacement blade published as an option.
The guards are the reason to pick this one: it can take a small amount of length off as well as set a line, which makes it closer to a single-tool solution for a short cut.
The honest cons. At 17.5 oz it is the heaviest tool here, and lineup work is wrist work. Andis states the material for the deep-tooth replacement blade but not for the standard blade that ships on it. Corded, again with no published cord length. And a deep-tooth blade bites harder, which is the wrong instinct for anyone still learning.
The adjustable one, and why it is the skip
The Wahl 5-Star Detailer is a genuinely well-regarded professional tool: a rotary motor behind the #2215 adjustable T-wide blade, a published 8-foot chemical-resistant cord - the only published cord length on this page - and three extra-wide guides.
It is the skip for a first purchase for three published reasons. Wahl gives no SPM figure at all, so its motor cannot be compared with the Andis tools on the one spec this category actually discloses. Its published warranty is 1 year against Andis's 2. And the adjustable blade - the feature people buy it for - is a blade you can set too close. On a hairline, a blade sitting proud of its guard is not a bad haircut; it is a cut.
Getting a line that is actually straight
- Dry hair, always. Wet hair lies flatter and springs back, so the line you cut is not the line you get.
- Follow your existing hairline, do not invent one. The most common self-inflicted mistake is straightening a naturally uneven hairline, which means going backwards - and it does not grow forward again.
- Blade flat to the skin, then lift into the line. Leading with the corner digs in.
- Small movements, and check in two mirrors. Especially at the nape, where you cannot see what you are doing - that guide is worth reading first.
- Brush out and oil after every use. Carbon steel plus damp equals rust, and a rusty blade pulls. The maintenance routine is here.
And the one on this page that is not a T-blade at all: the Wahl Magic Clip is included as the clipper half of the pair, because a lineup tool cannot cut your hair and a clipper cannot cut your line. Most people who think they need a better trimmer actually need both tools.
Every pick, with the working
Each entry shows the published specifications, the axis scores they produce and what you give up. The order is the computed order, not a commercial one, and the arithmetic is open underneath every score.
Our pickThe line every barber cuts
Andis T-Outliner T-Blade Trimmer (04780)
A magnetic motor published at 7,200 SPM behind a carbon-steel T-blade, corded, 14.5 oz, with a published 2-year warranty. It is the default outlining tool in professional use and it publishes the two figures that matter: motor speed and blade material. Corded is not a compromise here - a lineup is a stationary job.
- Material
- Carbon steel T-blade
- Made in
- Not published
- Refill
- Proprietary to the maker
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Assumed service life
- 2,600 uses
The arithmetic: 260 uses a year x 10 years of assumed service life = 2600 uses.
What it gets right
- Published 7,200 SPM magnetic motor - a real figure, which most trimmers do not give
- Published carbon-steel T-blade, hardened for cutting life
- Published 14.5 oz weight and 2-year warranty
- Corded, so there is no battery to fade mid-line
Flaws
- Corded, so it is tethered - and the cord length is not published
- Magnetic motors are louder and buzz more than rotary
- Carbon steel will rust if it is left wet; it needs oiling
- No guards included at this item number - it is an outlining tool, not a clipper
The working behind the 6.6
- How long it lasts: not scored
- Not scored. This is a durable item, not a consumable, so how long it lasts is an assumption about service life rather than something the pack size tells us.
- Ease of switching: 8.0
- Published motor speed and blade material remove the two biggest unknowns in this category (++), corded means no fade mid-line (+), but the cord itself is the friction (-) and carbon steel needs oiling (-).
- Refill economics: 4.0
- Only this maker's refill fits, so the ongoing price is set by the maker rather than by a market. This is where the real cost of ownership hides.
- What the maker publishes: 6.7
- 2 of 3 specifications a buyer would expect are published: material, warrantyLabel. Not published: madeIn. 2 / 3 x 10 = 6.7.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled 3 September 2026 from Andis T-Outliner 04780 published motor, blade and warranty.
2The same line without the cord
Andis Cordless T-Outliner Li Trimmer (74055)
A rotary motor published at the same 7,200 SPM, a lithium-ion battery published at 1 hour, 7.8 oz - less than half the GTX - and published dimensions. It runs corded or cordless, which removes the usual cordless objection entirely. The blade material is where it gets vaguer: Andis publishes carbon steel, stainless and ceramic as replacement options without stating what ships on it.
- Material
- T-blade; carbon steel, stainless and ceramic available
- Runtime
- 60 min
- Charge time
- Not published
- Made in
- Not published
- Refill
- Proprietary to the maker
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Assumed service life
- 2,600 uses
The arithmetic: 260 uses a year x 10 years of assumed service life = 2600 uses.
What it gets right
- Published 7,200 SPM rotary motor - quieter and smoother than magnetic
- Published 1-hour lithium-ion runtime, and it runs corded as well
- 7.8 oz published, by far the lightest here, which matters for wrist control
- Published dimensions (5.50 x 1.75 x 1.63 in) and a 2-year warranty
- Four comb sizes published: 1/16, 1/8, 1/4 and 3/8 inch
Flaws
- Charge time is not published, which is the other half of the battery question
- The blade material that ships on it is not stated - only the replacement options are
- A battery is a wear item on a tool otherwise built to last decades
- Cordless trimmers lose a little torque as the cell drains
The working behind the 7.0
- How long it lasts: not scored
- Not scored. This is a durable item, not a consumable, so how long it lasts is an assumption about service life rather than something the pack size tells us.
- Ease of switching: 9.0
- Cord/cordless operation removes the usual cordless trade-off entirely (++), 7.8 oz and a published 1-hour runtime (+), but no published charge time (-) and the shipped blade material is not stated (-).
- Refill economics: 4.0
- Only this maker's refill fits, so the ongoing price is set by the maker rather than by a market. This is where the real cost of ownership hides.
- What the maker publishes: 6.7
- 2 of 3 specifications a buyer would expect are published: material, warrantyLabel. Not published: madeIn. 2 / 3 x 10 = 6.7.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled 3 September 2026 from Andis Cordless T-Outliner Li 74055 published motor, battery and dimensions.
3Deep-tooth cutting and guards in the box
Andis GTX T-Outliner T-Blade Trimmer (04785)
The same published 7,200 SPM magnetic motor as the T-Outliner in a heavier 17.5 oz body, made in the USA, with four attachment combs from 1/16 to 3/8 inch included and a deep-tooth carbon-steel replacement blade available. The guards are the difference: this one can take length off as well as set a line.
- Material
- T-blade; deep-tooth carbon steel available
- Made in
- USA
- Refill
- Proprietary to the maker
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Assumed service life
- 2,600 uses
The arithmetic: 260 uses a year x 10 years of assumed service life = 2600 uses.
What it gets right
- Same published 7,200 SPM magnetic motor
- Four attachment combs published: 1/16, 1/8, 1/4 and 3/8 inch
- Published Made in USA and a 2-year warranty
- Deep-tooth carbon-steel replacement blade published as an option
Flaws
- 17.5 oz - the heaviest tool on this page, and outlining is a wrist job
- Andis does not state the standard blade material for this item, only for the replacement
- Corded, with no published cord length
- Deep-tooth blades bite harder, which is the wrong instinct for a first lineup
The working behind the 7.5
- How long it lasts: not scored
- Not scored. This is a durable item, not a consumable, so how long it lasts is an assumption about service life rather than something the pack size tells us.
- Ease of switching: 8.0
- Guards in the box make it a length tool as well as a line tool (+), same published motor figure (+), published US manufacture (+), but 17.5 oz is heavy for wrist work (-).
- Refill economics: 4.0
- Only this maker's refill fits, so the ongoing price is set by the maker rather than by a market. This is where the real cost of ownership hides.
- What the maker publishes: 10.0
- 3 of 3 specifications a buyer would expect are published: material, warrantyLabel, madeIn. 3 / 3 x 10 = 10.0.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled 3 September 2026 from Andis GTX T-Outliner 04785 published motor, weight, combs and origin.
4An adjustable blade you can set yourself
Wahl Professional 5-Star Detailer (8081)
Skip this one. A well-regarded professional tool and the wrong first purchase for a beginner. Its blade is adjustable, which is the feature people buy it for and the reason it is the skip here: an adjustable T-blade set too close is a blade sitting proud of its guard, and on a hairline that is not a bad haircut, it is a cut. Wahl also publishes no SPM figure at all, so its motor cannot be compared against the Andis tools on this page, and its published warranty is 1 year against Andis's 2.
A rotary motor behind the #2215 adjustable T-wide blade - the only adjustable blade on this page - in a 9.5 inch body with a published 8-foot cord and three extra-wide guides. Adjustable means you set the blade position yourself rather than buying a zero-gapped tool, which is the whole argument for it. Wahl publishes a 1-year warranty, half what Andis gives.
- Material
- #2215 adjustable T-wide blade
- Made in
- USA (assembled)
- Refill
- Proprietary to the maker
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Assumed service life
- 2,600 uses
The arithmetic: 260 uses a year x 10 years of assumed service life = 2600 uses.
What it gets right
- The #2215 blade is adjustable - the only one here you can set without replacing
- Rotary motor, which runs quieter and smoother than a magnetic one
- Published 8-foot chemical-resistant cord, the only published cord length on this page
- Three extra-wide T-shaped guides published, 1/16 to 3/16 inch
- Published as assembled in the USA
Flaws
- Published 1-year warranty against Andis's 2
- Wahl publishes no SPM figure at all, so the motor cannot be compared with the Andis tools
- An adjustable blade is one more thing to set wrong, and a badly set T-blade cuts skin
- Corded only
The working behind the 7.2
- How long it lasts: not scored
- Not scored. This is a durable item, not a consumable, so how long it lasts is an assumption about service life rather than something the pack size tells us.
- Ease of switching: 7.5
- An adjustable blade means one tool covers several gap settings (+), rotary motor and a published 8-foot cord (+), but no published SPM at all (-), a 1-year warranty (-), and an adjustable blade set wrong is a skin injury (-).
- Refill economics: 4.0
- Only this maker's refill fits, so the ongoing price is set by the maker rather than by a market. This is where the real cost of ownership hides.
- What the maker publishes: 10.0
- 3 of 3 specifications a buyer would expect are published: material, warrantyLabel, madeIn. 3 / 3 x 10 = 10.0.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled 3 September 2026 from Wahl 5-Star Detailer 8081 published motor, blade, cord and warranty.
5Fading and blending at home
Wahl 5 Star Magic Clip (8148)
Cord or cordless with a published 90-minute lithium runtime and zero-overlap 2161 blades, plus a taper lever you can work with your thumb mid-stroke. The taper lever is the whole reason this is the fade pick: it changes cutting length continuously rather than in guard-sized jumps, which is what a blend actually needs.
- Material
- Not published
- Runtime
- 90 min
- Charge time
- Not published
- Length settings
- 8
- Waterproof
- Not published
- Made in
- Not published
- Refill
- Proprietary to the maker
- Warranty
- Not published
- Assumed service life
- 1,300 uses
The arithmetic: 260 uses a year x 5 years of assumed service life = 1300 uses.
What it gets right
- Published 90-minute lithium runtime, and it runs corded when flat
- Zero-overlap 2161 blades with a thumb-operated taper lever for continuous length change
- Eight attachment combs, oil and cleaning brush in the box
- Cord-or-cordless, so a dead battery never ends a haircut halfway
Flaws
- A taper lever rewards practice; on a first attempt it is one more thing to get wrong
- Wahl does not publish a motor rating for it, so it cannot be compared numerically to the corded Andis
- No published charge time
The working behind the 5.9
- How long it lasts: not scored
- Not scored. This is a durable item, not a consumable, so how long it lasts is an assumption about service life rather than something the pack size tells us.
- Ease of switching: 8.0
- Cord-or-cordless removes the flat-battery failure entirely (++), 90 minutes published (+), eight combs is a sane number (+), but a taper lever is a skill and a first-time home barber has enough of those already (-).
- Refill economics: 4.0
- Only this maker's refill fits, so the ongoing price is set by the maker rather than by a market. This is where the real cost of ownership hides.
- What the maker publishes: 4.0
- 2 of 5 specifications a buyer would expect are published: runtimeMin, settings. Not published: chargeMin, material, warrantyLabel. 2 / 5 x 10 = 4.0.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled 3 September 2026 from Wahl 5 Star Magic Clip 8148 published specifications.
Prices last verified September 24, 2026. They move constantly; the figure on Amazon when you click is the real one.
Questions people actually ask
What is a T-blade and how is it different from a clipper blade?
A T-blade is wide and square with the cutting teeth extending past the body of the tool on both sides, so you can drive a corner into a line. A clipper blade is narrower and rounded, built to feed bulk hair into a cutter. One cuts edges, the other removes length - the comparison covers the split.
What does zero-gapping mean, and should I do it?
Moving the cutting blade forward so it sits almost flush with the guard, for a sharper line. It also removes the margin that stops the blade contacting skin, so a zero-gapped trimmer cuts you rather than nicking you. Not until you can already cut a straight line without one.
Do I need a T-blade if I already own clippers?
If you cut your own hair and want a clean neckline and temples, yes - a clipper corner will not give you the same edge. The nape guide covers what you can reasonably do yourself, and the answer is more than most people expect.
Magnetic or rotary motor?
Magnetic motors run at a fixed high speed, buzz more and have more vibration; rotary motors are quieter and smoother with more torque under load. For lineup work the difference is mostly comfort - both Andis tools here publish the same 7,200 SPM despite using different motor types.
Corded or cordless for lineups?
Corded has no battery to fade mid-line and nothing to wear out. Cordless is lighter and easier to angle around your own head. The Andis cordless model runs corded as well, which is the answer that removes the question.
Does carbon steel matter?
It takes and holds a finer edge than stainless, which is why it is the professional default - and it rusts if you leave it wet. That is a real maintenance obligation: brush it out and oil it, every time.